05
Apr
09

amongst other things, A is for Amanda…and aardvark

A blog! Hooray. Another one to add to the growing list of blogs out there in cyberspace. In all reality, this one probably won’t be more interesting than anything else out there. But it will keep fingers typing, and provide amusement for a period of time (at least for the blogger).

I should start with an introduction.

I’m Amanda, I’m 21 and I was born about 2am on January 15 in a hospital. Interesting isn’t it. I’m sure you wanted to know that also. How much of an introduction is needed anyway? How far will this blog reach that those reading it aren’t already on my facebook and know the basic details (and probably much more) without reading this? Who knows. It shall be an experiment. A test.

Will I get some random stranger leave a comment here? Let’s wait and see.

(No cheating or misleading, thanks)

I have a bit of a headache. Maybe it is brought on by the pressure I will feel now to do something interesting – so then I’ll be able to blog about it. There’s something a little egotistical about writing a blog isn’t there. You think people want to read about your life. But then I guess people-watching (or in this case, people-reading (is that even correct?)) is all the rage.

Maybe an explanation about the title of this blog is needed. Amongst other things, A is for Amanda. Go figure. Aardvark too. How obvious, and fantastic. It’s the first word in the dictionary I am told. By a reliable source. You learn new things every day. There’s one for you!

What did I learn today? I learnt that not every yum cha place in Melbourne does vegetarian spring rolls. Or really, have a lot of vegetarian options. I don’t know what I expected. It is my dad’s birthday and he loves yum cha so we went as a nice family to a place we’ve been to often. Well not that often because I actually hadn’t been there in a few years, but it was a place that had provided a decent meal and service previously, but their menu had changed, and, since my climbing over the fence from hamburger-downer to friendly tofu-eater had since eventuated, my eating options were somewhat limited. I thought vegetarian spring rolls were a staple though.

Evidently not.

I just want to post something on this blog. I probably should have put more time and effort into choosing a theme for this, but the oh-so-cute (sarcasm? I’m actually not too sure) pen at the top of this theme seemed highly appropriate.

Anyway, first ramble complete. I’ll have to see how this pans out – hopefully well.

3 Responses to “amongst other things, A is for Amanda…and aardvark”


  1. April 5, 2009 at 5:47 pm

    Yay blog!
    Blogs have been replaced in part by status updates.. they have become a dying art.. :-(
    But, as you say, blogs are rather egotistical. Not this one thought. I enjoyed it! I was pleased to learn when my Uncle’s birthday was. Today, apparently. Happy Birthday Uncle Eddie! I will meet you yet!
    We have Yum Cha in Auckland. Yes. I am told it is a wonderous land of Asian delicacies and the like.
    I feel like I should ‘start a blog’ now. I hate sharing things (eg photos, blogs) with everyone thought, so if I do start one it will not be without iro-clad privacy settings :P I used to blog on Myspace about my trips to Auckland. They were pop-u-lar.
    Cheerio!

  2. 2 Belinda
    April 5, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    WHERE IS MY AWESOME COMMENT??

  3. 3 meandallmyfriends
    April 7, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    Yo…good blog ‘Manda! I liked it muchly :) Am eagerly anticipating the next instalment :p


Leave a Reply

