24
Sep
09

Amen To That!

Years back now, when I was younger and much more naive (yes it is possible, don’t give me that look), I was asked by a relative (well-meaning I’m sure, and if not, then what kind of question is that to pose to a young and naive Amanda whose then-current, yet temporary, living and eating arrangements clearly depended on your hospitality?!) whether I believed in God. I remember at the time now, that my eyes grew wide (probably at the surprise and abruptness of the question considering I had just been driven to church (oh my)) and I muttered something along the lines of ‘ooh errr… well…I don’t know’

Definitive eh.

Too right.

But this isn’t a post about that kind of religion and the recruitment (apparently? (Far out, I am so going to be taken down by anyone who recognises themselves in the above situation I’ve just realised, ha fantastic…)) of new followers or believers (hey I really enjoyed The Da Vinci Code and all of the other Dan Brown books (which reminds me, I am about halfway through The Lost Symbol atm and it is brilliant (yes, I am totally caught up in the hype, I went and bought it from Coles the second day it was out (it was on special – prices won’t be beat at $24.48 (jeez Coles should pay me for this stuff… har har)) and sat out in the sun to read it) and I’ll have to post about that bit later) though not really Deception Point which basically everyone seems to agree isn’t as brilliant) in fact, this post is about different religion.

The religion of football (trumpets!)

(Why yes, I am serious) (And I totally hope that you kept up with all my previous brackets)

Because, now I think about it, as we are here in the last week of September, two days after the Brownlow Medal (congratulations must go to Garry Ablett Junior), one day away from the highly anticipated Grand Final Parade (what are you laughing at? Don’t laugh at me!) and only a mere TWO (that’s right!) days away from the big day itself – the AFL Grand Final, my answer to this ‘Do you believe in God question?’ should have been a resounding yes.

‘Why yes, well-meaning yet almost-scary relative (yes, I am aware of the fact I am digging myself into a rather deep and large hole here…it is possible to dig upwards right?!), I do believe in God! I worship him for 22 weeks of the year, hopefully an extra four, and I pin all my hopes on the fact that he can lift me into the highest echelons of happiness, to which, after that point, I shall (provide I am successful in attaining such glee (seen the show?) and joy from the wonder, he shall be adored for even more of the calendar year’.

I mean, I wouldn’t mention the part about my god wearing red, white and blue, a pair of footy boots, a small pair of shorts (hooray! Ha perve), be the owner of a brilliant pair of toned (but not horrendously too muscly) arms and called Jordan McMahon.

(Lol)

Now I’ve admitted that, it sounds rather fanatical, tragic and freaky (pot calling kettle black etc eh?). I was rather obsessed. Back then especially. (and I seriously hope Jordan McMahon doesn’t read this post (ha who am I kidding), because that would be entirely embarrassing, maybe I should stop mentioning his name because I’m not sure how tagging and searching goes with this lol (you’d think years of computer and multimedia studies at school would help this (apparently not!))). But then the traitor (yes, I yelled at out at football matches) changed teams and a little bit of my faith was extinguished (clearly not helped by years on the bottom of the AFL ladder either haha).

But I digress.

We’re in the last week of September and it’s hard not to get caught up in the footy hype. Even if you hated footy, I can’t see how you can escape it really.

It’s like everywhere! Channel 10 is even advertising their 10 hours of footy – all starting from 8am with the Grand Final breakfast.

And Federation Square is filled with footy activities all this week. Check out the schedule for Grand Final Week here. (Free stuff yay!)

Delicious (as Bruce McAvaney said)

Of course, some people are going to be more excited than others (Geelong and St Kilda supporters obviously), so it’s up to the rest of us to decide who we shall be supporting.

It’s a tough choice really, and I think I’m still making my mind up. It’s not like I can’t stand any of these teams (like Collingwood (though it’s still a good thing they didn’t make it into the final because if they did actually win then that would be way more painful ha)) and I like and dislike players from each. St Kilda needs a premiership because it’s been so fricken long, but then it makes the bulldogs look worse! And it would be rather sad if Geelong has been brilliant for ages, yet only won one premiership…

Ah dear, at least I’ve still got two days to decide.

Meanwhile, I think the result will depend on the weather – St Kilda is a rather rain-avoiding team…maybe their players are a little too pretty.

Enjoy the weekend everyone, totally get caught up in it all. It gives you a chance to swear and abuse people, wave your arms about, get entirely loud and unruly, eat pies, drink beer etc etc. Not that anyone needed more (or any) reason to do any of this on any other day, but at least you won’t look too crazy.

And completely off the topic – Boost Juice Name Game is over. No Amanda. No Free Boost. UNIMPRESSED!

0 Responses to “Amen To That!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

